How did I not know that???

I managed to get my hands on some sewing books recently, one of which is

Now I actually haven’t gotten very far into it because I am still reeling from this tip in the Sewing Equipment section
How did I not know that my tape measure was standard seam allowance width? (And yes, I did measure it to check). I know I’m just getting back into this sewing lark but surely I should have  remembered this (if I ever knew it).
Am I the only one that didn’t know this? Is this the best kept secret in the sewiverse or am I just woefully ignorant? What else don’t I know? (that apparently everyone else does) 
Did you realise/learn/discover something and think “How did I not know that?” Please save me from further embarrassment needless difficulties by sharing your sewiverse secrets in the comments below.
Thanks very much.
10 thoughts on “How did I not know that???

  1. Light bulb moment! I did not know the tape measure trick.

    I also use my thumb nail as a rough guide. And the top joint as a hem allowance guide.

    I need a new tape measure, definitely getting a proper standard one now!

    Like

  2. Just had a quick peek at your blog and am so gratified that an amazing sewist like yourself didn't know either – makes me feel better:)

    Seriously though, you are right it is really helpful. Happy tape measure shopping.

    Like

  3. Huh, I didn't know either. I think mine is non-standard and skinnier so I may have to go shopping! This would be really helpful, all the cool pattterns come without seam allowances.

    Like

  4. Yes I remember this pointer, I cant remember how I came to know it maybe from a sewing class in the 90s. I seem to be able to recognise 5/8″ by eye now, which is just a bit less than the width of my thumb nail that holds the fabric while I tack, it works for me anyway.

    Like

Leave a Reply

